The Day I Wore A Dress

I actually wore a dress today!! I am on holiday, it is a hot summer day and I thought stuff it. I bought a dress for my holiday and I am going to wear it!

We spent the day in Scarborough, it was really windy but the sun was so warm that the wind didn’t even bother you and it kept you just nice and cool on the seafront; there were practically no clouds in the sky!
I love Scarborough, we go lots all year round and there’s quite a lot to do to be honest.

SAM_2007.JPG

We’d planned on doing the long boat ride, but it was too windy so we ended up on the little pirate boat but that was a nice half hour little ride that gave us a really nice sea breeze to cool us down. Scarborough sea is actually pretty clear for where we are, clear enough to see lots of jelly fish that had been blown closer to shore with the winds! The boat rides are nice to just feel a bit of sea breeze and do something different to just walking along the pier all the time.

SAM_1998smaller.jpg

As we were walking to South Bay from North Bay, we noticed people watching the sea and realised that a Porpoise was swimming along the bay! There are actually boats that can take you out to spot the Porpoise but it was £28 and we didn’t want to spend all that money when we’d just seen one as we were walking along the bay! This isn’t a great picture but they don’t stay above water for very long so this was the best I could get!

Most of the time we just get the open top bus from North Bay to South bay – as it is usually pretty windy and cold walking along there – but today because it was so lovely we decided to walk it and it was so lovely. We got to see the Porpoise as an added bonus, but it’s a really nice walk when it’s sunny and warm. The sea is one of my favourite places to be, I’ve always loved the sea. Living so close to the coast is so lucky, I don’t know what I’d do if I ever had to move more inland!!

In my opinion, Scarborough also has one of the best seaside ice-cream parlous ever. Harbour Bar is the name and their Chocolate Twist ice-cream on a cornet, oh my gosh. I never go to Scarborough without getting an ice-cream from there!

DSCF9033

Scarborough Castle is another good place to visit! We didn’t go there today, but I’ve been a few times and it’s a nice walk around – there is also a church nearby with the grave of Anne Brontë; there is the original grave stone there and then underneath a new one as the old one is very old and faded and some of it is now unreadable. The castle gives a fantastic view of Scarborough for miles, on a clear day it looks lovely! The grounds are big for a long walk, you can go in a bit of the castle, and I love history so anything like this I think is great anyway! You can see the views of the South Bay and North Bay of Scarborough, with the harbour too to see the boats going out to sea.DSCF9057.JPG

SAM_6326.JPGPeasholm Park is another place we visit there a lot. It is a Japanese/Chinese style garden, pretty big, to walk around. You can have a go on the paddle boats around the lake, feed the squirrels – and the pigeons who seem to enjoy the nuts more than the squirrels do! – or just walk around and actually look at how pretty the park actually is. I love Japan (not that I’ve ever been but I am trying to learn Japanese) so when I was taken for the first time years ago I was in my absolute element. There is even a pagoda in the park which has a little water fall flowing down in front of it which looks beautiful. There is a little island in the lake where music is sometimes played, last time I was there I was sat listening to a man play Glen Miller songs on the piano which was lovely.

SAM_6302.JPG

Seriously. The squirrels and pigeons love to eat the nuts, some are brave enough to sit and eat from your hands!!

If you want a quieter bit of the beach to walk along though, if you walk past Valley Bridge towards The Spa and carry on afterwards, you get to a much quiter part. It’s away from the amusements and all of the shops etc. and it’s lovely and quiet. My dad used to come here too, he had a rock that he’d sit on and just relax which he’s since taken us too to go and sit there. It’s a nice part of the seaside town away from the noise that I love coming to for a walk. SAM_0019blogone.jpg *Dad and my sister sat on ‘dads rock’*

Olivers Mount is a nice place to visit too just to see the view of Scarborough from a different angle. My dad studied at Scarborough Univeristy so while living there he used toSAM_0032.JPG visit Olivers Mount a lot on his bike. I probably get my love of Scarborough from my dad as he loves it too! It’s on top of a big hill, you can see all of Scarborough and more, sitting up there and watching the sunset it gorgeous and I love to do it when I can! On the very odd ocasion we’ll buy our tea (dinner) in Scarborough and take it to eat up at Olivers Mount t eat while watching the sun setting.

***I fell asleep writing this, so continued writing the next day – I now have very sunburnt shoulders after wearing the dress .. remember to wear sun-cream!!!!

One thought on “The Day I Wore A Dress

Leave a comment